The Debut Album – Better Late… – now released into the wild

To contact The VALVES, please email

See the Debut Album page for ordering details

If you’re familiar with The VALVES, you’ll know we released three singles in the late 70s but did not manage to release an album. All fixed – we’ve released a 14-track vinyl LP containing a mix of studio sessions, demos and live recordings from the one-off reunion gig in December 2013.

It’s taken many months, but we finally got the best recordings from tape and agreed on the included tracks. Our long-time buddy Spiny (Doug Ring) then painstakingly remixed the tracks to vinyl quality. Lindsay Hutton assembled the artwork to our drummer’s design. It’s released in a vinyl only numbered limited edition of 500 by our own Portobello Record Company. (further releases are planned)

So – you can order the album online at

If you order now, you’ll receive a free limited edition poster. It is also available in selected record shops.

There’s a cheesy publicity video bouncing around on YouTube too –

Track Listing


  1. For Adolfs Only (live) – 1:48
  2. Mum and Dad – 3:02
  3. Sister Radio – 3:44
  4. I Don’t Wanna Eat You – 2:59
  5. West End Club – 2:52
  6. So Stuck Up – 1:53
  7. Fab Front Loader – 2:44


  1. Diana Barrymore – 2:13
  2. Anytime – 3:09
  3. Walk Don’t Walk – 2:57
  4. Robot Love (live) – 3:25
  5. Haircuts From Mars – 2:32
  6. Linda Vindaloo (Spiny Remix) – 3:17
  7. Aint’t No Surf In Portobello (live) – 2:32